‘It’s about my ambitions, where I see myself heading’- Cozmik

I got the chance to chat to up-and-coming artist Cozmik, who aims to show South Africa why he is coming for the number one spot in the music industry! 

cosmik

Cozmik, whose real name is Abongiwe Peter,  is a 17 year-old hip hop recording artist from Cape Town.

The artist started showing an interest in music at a young age and wrote his first rap lyrics at the age of 9.

Cozmik teamed up with a talented Cape Town producer and recently released his first official single titled “Pusha Man” and along with it scored himself a music video with well-known Director & Cinematographer, Fabian Vettiger.

The track already received its radio debut when Goodhope FM chose Cozmik to be one of its ‘Finding The Hype’ artists.

Cozmik describes himself as an “unearthed diamond”.

“Cozmik is how I voice my thoughts, how I face my problems and deal with emotions. It’s who I have become over the years.”

He says that “lyricism is the backbone of what he does.

“You can’t call yourself a rapper but can’t rap. Stylistically speaking, I see myself in the same category as Tory Lanez, Nasty C, Reason etc. I make good music although it’s not just about bars, I look beyond that. I hate limiting myself, I try diversity in terms of style and trying to find perfection.”

Cozmik says his influences are South African rappers AKA and Nasty C. He aspires to “reach their level” one day.

He is also inspired by international artists such as Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar and Chance The Rapper.

“I love how they push boundaries and create something new. Artists like these guys live forever.”

Cozmik admits that music is what he loves to do.

“I’ve been exposed to different types of music from an early age, this is all I know. Music is healing, music is happiness and I’m trying to spread that throughout the world. So music gives me that outlet basically.”

Explaining the background concerning his latest single, the rapper says that ‘Pusha Man’ is all about grinding.

“The same way a drug dealer (Pusha Man) is on the corner of the streets selling his product, I’m on the corner of the Web selling mine. It’s about my ambitions, where I see myself heading. Just a reflection of my reality to sum it up.”

Besides music, Cozmik said that he would like to “explore other creative avenues though, like illustrations, photography, fashion etc.”

Cozmik revealed that mother is his biggest fan, saying that she plays his music and brags to her friends.

Starting out in the industry isn’t easy, Cozmik admitted that not being taken seriously is challenging.

“I don’t have a million plays or followers so immediately I’m looked down upon, the struggle rapper. But I guess it’s all part of the hustle, I gotta prove myself.”

In the music industry today, one needs to stand out to get noticed. Cozmik confidently says that his music speaks for itself and sets him apart from the rest.

“In many ways I’m still trying to perfect my craft, trying to find the style to run with so the question I feel can only be answered with action. I’m still growing so there is no definite blueprint or formula. I change styles, I switch up trying to diversify, and so I feel like I can’t put in a box and label what I sound like as yet. What sets me a part from the next artist, I’d rather have the listener answer that.”

cosmik-2

I wanted to get to know Abongiwe Peter, better know as Cozmik, better, so I asked him the following:

If you could be any animal in the world, what animal would you be and why?

That’s actually quite a hard question. I’d be a gorilla, just cause of Harambe. Rest in peace to the
legend.

What is the most embarrassing thing that has happened to you recently?

Haven’t had much of those lately but I was in the mall with a friend, he told me to look at something inside a jewelry store, we were on the outside walking past, so I head closer to the glass but got too close and bumped my head against the glass. It was low key though, only my friend saw so it’s chilled.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning?

Just knowing I have something to live for. This music, my family, my friends, my girl, I love life, I value my existence and that of others.

Which international and which local artist would you like to work with?

AKA cause his my favourite rapper and Kanye West cause he’s the greatest of all time.

What is your biggest/weirdest fear?

I really don’t have one of those, at least not one I can think of off the top.

Who is your inspiration?

Other young creative doing it big. All the youngins’ riding round and getting it. I’m impressed by them and it’s not necessarily rappers.

What are you currently busy with?

I’m currently adding the final touches to a beautiful collage of sound. It’s a 6 track long EP ‘Pusha Man’. Finna hit yall with that work as soon I’m done cooking in the kitchen and when the time is right.

Cozmik’s main focus is to spread positive energy through his music and to inspire others to become greater beings.

 

Listen to ‘Pusha Man’ HERE

cosmik-3.

Leave a Reply

